Due to the State of Emergency from Hurricane Michael, insurers may not cancel or non-renew a policy

As of October 8, 2018 Governor Rick Scott has placed the following counties under a State of Emergency: Escambia, Santa Rosa, Okaloosa, Walton, Holmes, Washington, Bay, Jackson, Calhoun, Gulf, Gadsden, Liberty, Franklin, Leon, Wakulla, Jefferson, Madison, Taylor, Hamilton, Suwannee, Lafayette, Dixie, Columbia, Gilchrist, Levy, and Citrus due to the devastation of Hurricane Michael.

The commissioner has issued a general order to all insurance companies, entities, and persons that are subject to the Florida Insurance Code and that serve any of the counties included in the state of emergency. Between, October 7, 2018 and January 7, 2018, no Regulated Entity shall cancel or non-renew a policy of insurance or issue a notice of cancellation or non-renewal. All notices of cancellation issued or mailed ten (10) calendar days preceding October 7, 2018, affecting a policyholder in the Included Counties, shall be withdrawn and reissued to insureds on or after January 7, 2019.

Click here to read more:

Upcoming Training
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square

  Work Comp Associates, Inc. 

Florida's Premier Source for Workers Compensation Coverage & Information


1-844-922-2329 - (Toll Free Fax)


"It's not hard to make decisions once you know what your values are." 


Roy E. Disney

© 2021 by Work Comp Associates, Inc. All rights reserved.

  • s-facebook
  • s-linkedin